2019 Pro Cooking Team Information & Rules

The 11th Annual Mountain High Barbecue Festival is a KCBS (Kansas City BBQ Society) sanctioned event and will adhere to those guidelines. KCBS representatives will be onsite. 

Click here for Pro team form

Festival Dates/Hours
Friday, August 9, 2019
11:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Inspection at 8:00 a.m.

Saturday, August 10, 2019
10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Wayne Proffitt Agricultural Center
1436 Georgia Road, Franklin, NC 28734

Contact Information
Franklin Chamber of Commerce ~ (800) 336-7829 ~ (828) 524-3161 ~ www.visitfranklinnc.com

The Contest
The contest consists of four KCBS categories which are required in order to qualify for the Grand Championship. Judging begins at noon on Saturday using the blind judging technique.

Required Categories
Poultry (Chicken Only)
Pork Ribs
Boston Butt 
Brisket (Beef Brisket)


Saturday KCBS Competition
12 noon - Chicken Turn In (Pro & Backyard)
12:30 pm - Rib Turn In (Pro & Backyard)
1:00 pm - Pork Turn In (Pro & Backyard)
1:30 pm - Beef Brisket Turn In (Pro Only)
2:00 pm - Tastin’ Tent Pork Butt Turn In


Awards for Competitions and Optional Categories

Grand Champion                                           $2,000 plus Trophy
Reserve Grand Champion                               $1,000 plus Trophy
First Place each meat                                     $500 plus Trophy
Second Place each meat                                 $400 plus Trophy
Third Place each meat                                    $300 plus Trophy
Fourth Place each meat                                  $250 plus Ribbon
Fifth Place each meat                                     $200 plus Ribbon
Sixth Place each meat                                    $150 plus Ribbon
Seventh Place each meat                                $125 plus Ribbon
Eighth Place each meat                                   $100 plus Ribbon
Ninth Place each meat                                     $75 plus Ribbon
Tenth Place each meat                                    $50 plus Ribbon

Franklin's Finest (Tastin' Tent)                         Trophy